Whitfield County was formed in 1851 from part of Murray County which lies on it's eastern boundary. Whitfield County lies in northwestern Georgia and is bordered by the Tennessee state line on it's northern side and by Catoosa, Walker, Gordon and Murray Counties, counterclockwise, on it's other boundaries. Whitfield, Georgia's 97th county was named after Reverend George Whitefield, an early settler of Georgia and the founder of the Bethesda Orphan House in Savannah. The spelling of the county name was later changed from Whitefield to Whitfield to reflect the way it was pronounced.

There are five towns within Whitfield County, these being the county seat, Dalton (formerly Cross Plains), Cohutta, Varnell, Tunnel Hill and Rocky Face. In 2010 the census for Whitfield County was 102,599 with the Dalton Census District having 74,005 residents.


This search engine reindexed on at 8:08 PM. Information added after that time will not show up on the search and can only be searched manually until the next reindexing.

Biographies Family Photographs Newspapers
Births Funeral Parlors Obituaries
Brick Walls Government Reunions/Events
Cemeteries Historical Landmarks Schools
Census Historical Markers Students
Churches Libraries Surnames & Researchers
Community Calendar Links Veterans
Death Certificates Lookup Volunteers Wills
1895 Cities & Towns Marriages ~

If you would like to see other categories added to this collection or if you have material that you would like to contribute please feel free to contact me.

 This site is a member of The American History and Genealogy Project (AHGP), an unincorporated not-for-profit network of independent sites devoted to History & Genealogy, and covering North American Countries and Territories. For more information about our group, including how you can join us, please see our About page.

This site is hosted by Genealogy Village    and     Access Genealogy, a genealogy web-hosting service

Real Genealogy - Not Just Links

Golden Peach Award
This Award is given to a Georgia, American History and Genealogy Project County and it's host for Excellence in Ongoing Research and for all the tireless
hours of compiling and gathering information to be put on the internet to help other researchers. Thanks for a job well done.

Awarded to Whitfield County, GA and Paula Franklin April 1, 2002
Award designed by Rhio Gillis. To see more of her work go to Rhio's Sampler

This page was last updated Tuesday, 02-Feb-2016 13:49:18 EST.
Copyright © 2002~2016 by Whitfield AHGP.

There were more than 73,000 visitors to this site between February 19, 2002 and August 12, 2011 when this new counter was installed.
You are the visitor to this site since August 12, 2011.
Thank you for visiting!